Twin Oaks is a land mark property situated on the outskirts of Eccleshall. It was built in 1862 as the village school by the architect G.E. Street and later became the village Memorial Hall. It has had a number of uses over the years including a community centre and a cinema. In the early 1980’s the property was converted to a residential dwelling and underwent a thorough remodelling and renovation.
This project involved significant internal refurbishment, including removal of some internal walls and the formation of openings, the introduction of a modern staircase within the lounge to access a cinema room, and renovation of an internal swimming pool. Original features of this Grade 2 listed building were preserved for future generations, including sandstone Gothic arches and timber ribbon windows. An unsympathetic 80’s flat roof extension to the rear of the property was demolished and replaced with a contemporary extension with cornerless bi-folding doors and an overhanging roof providing a covered patio area.
The project boasts high end finishes and materials such as polished concrete flooring, granite worktops, a bespoke kitchen, frameless glass balustrades, Schuco aluminium doors, home automation audio visual systems and an automated ventilation and climate control system for the pool room.
“Tarpey Woodfine Architects helped us negotiate with our contractor, managed our expectations and held our hand throughout. Monthly site meetings helped us keep abreast of any issues which arose, enabling us to manage our budget effectively and making the whole process as stress free as possible. Thanks to Tarpey Woodfine we now have a beautiful family home and a little piece of beautifully preserved English history which we are extremely proud to own.” Mr & Mrs Wood